Critters / Food

Low Key Bday

Good news! There was a chicken slaughter yesterday morning in honor of my birthday. Ok it wasn’t specifically for my birthday, but it was happening right outside of our window so they could have at least asked if I wanted to take part. I would have, but I was busy directing traffic for a few car crashes that involved the massacre of baby pandas.

20 headless chickens aside, Africa definitely feels like home to me at this point, and it was fun to celebrate another year in another country. To be honest, I didn’t really celebrate, but it was still nice to hang out and eat pumpkin muffins and watch High School Musical 3.. Oh yes I did. Tara, Grace, Lori, and I went out to dinner to a restaurant called The Black Lantern, which was lovely, and we got to sit on an outdoor patio/deck area that overlooked the Nile and the falls. In between the river and our table were monkey filled trees, which meant that I wasn’t paying full attention when Tara asked me what my goals were for the upcoming year.

As you know, I was born on wheels, so coming up with my future’s mission statement isn’t necessarily a strength of mine. I answered that I want to live somewhere for longer than six months.. after Africa.. and probably another season in Tahoe, so realistically that goal won’t be able to reach its full potential until my next birthday. I do have a goal I thought of since then though! Pick my eyebrow less (I pick a bald spot in one eyebrow when I get nervous or stressed). I don’t expect a stress-free year, so I can’t guarantee this nervous habit will be eliminated, but I want to keep more of my left (your right) eyebrow than I have in the past, it’s a super glamorous goal, I know. AND if I do live somewhere for an extended period of time I would love to own some sort of kitchen appliance. I only have a corkscrew, which I’m pretty sure I left in California, and probably doesn’t count as an appliance.

Tomorrow I am going to learn the mango picking techniques of these two guys

One thought on “Low Key Bday

Leave a comment